Skip to content

Welcome to the Future

January 30, 2010

Today I was listening to the song “Welcome to the Future” by Brad Paisley.  This song really got to me.

Here are the lyrics.

When I was ten years old,
I remember thinkin’ how cool it would be,
When we were goin’ on an eight hour drive,
If I could just watch T.V.

And I’d have given anything
To have my own PacMan game at home.
I used to have to get a ride down to the arcade;
Now I’ve got it on my phone.

He-e-ey…
Glory glory hallelujah.
Welcome to the future.

My grandpa was in World War II,
He fought against the Japanese.
He wrote a hundred letters to my grandma;
Mailed em from his base in the Philippines.

I wish they could see this now,
Where they say this change can go.
Cause I was on a video chat this morning
With a company in Tokyo.

He-e-ey…
Everyday is a revolution.
Welcome to the future.

He-e-ey…
Look around it’s all so clear.
He-e-ey…
Wherever we would go and well we…
He-e-ey…
So many things I never thought I’d see…
Happening right in front of me.

I had a friend in school,
Running-back on a football team,
They burned a cross in his front yard
For asking out the home-coming queen.

I thought about him today,
Everybody who’s seen what he’s seen,
From a woman on a bus
To a man with a dream.

He-e-ey…
Wake up Martin Luther.
Welcome to the future.
He-e-ey…
Glory glory hallelujah.
Welcome to the future.

Times have really changed for sure.  Have the changed for the better or for the worst.  Well I think you can look at it in both ways for sure.  For the better, our life have been made so easy.  With technology many things are being able to be accomplished much easier, yet much of the world has not been able to take advantage of it yet.

In the song it talks about a young kid getting a cross burned in his front yard.  Would that happen today, I don’t know.  I think we are becoming more open to equality for everyone these days.  Yet in other ways maybe we aren’t.  Lets look at how we treat gays and lesbians it seems like our discrimination has been turned towards them.  Some day I hope that we can judge a person for just for the person they are not based on race, ethnicity, or sexual orientation.

All and all I think the world is a great place you just have look at it positively.

Feel free to write any comments.
Peace,
Torsten

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 6:05 am

    I see the song as talking about the present being a transitional phase. I don’t think that having a black President is the the end to all the world’s troubles, and I really hope Brad doesn’t think that either. To me the song says “look how far we’ve come, this is what we /can/ achieve if we try.”

    Btw, I think the line is:

    “He-e-ey…
    Look around it’s all so clear.
    He-e-ey…
    Wherever we were going, well, we’re here.”

    Awesome song.

    Bryony.

Leave a Reply

