Skip to content

Photo Camp Utah

March 22, 2010

On Saturday I went to Photo Camp Utah.  Photo Camp is a big one day jam-packed day of Photography.  Photographers from all over the state come to this event.  For those of you who didn’t know Utah has a very big and supportive photo community. It was the second year that they had done this. This event was put on by those involved in Photowalking UT.  The main people that headed this up were Jeremy Hall, Ann Torrence, and Rich Legg.  There were a bunch of great sponsers like, Smugmug, Pixels, Pictureline, and many others.

This was a great experience for me.  I was able to go to four different classes.  The classes I went to were The Magical Color Engine a class that was about how the eye sees color, Photoshop Demo, Business Planning for Photographers, and Food Photography.

I learned a lot in Robert Marc’s class about color and the eye.
Here is a pic of robert.

Nicole Young taught a class on using Photoshop.  I won a free book in that class so that was awesome

The next class was the Business Panel.  This was great.  3 out of the 4 had goatees so I understood that to be successful in business one must have a goatee.

The fourth and final class was a food photography class.  I learned that color has a lot to do with this.  Complementary colors work awesome here.  So its important to learn about color theory.

Here is my friend Justin thinking about  food 

We then had a keynote given by Zach Arias.  It was uber awesome.
Some of the things he touched on were, The importance of family, knowing your camera, working with people, and fearing nothing.  Some great quotes from Zach, “People are the only people that pay money.” “I’m not trying to get in your soul.” “Just smell the success.” You can see Zach’s Keynote on Ustream http://www.ustream.tv/channel/photocamp-utah-pcu2010.

If you can make it to the next photo camp I promises you won’t be sorry.

Here are some of my other captures from the day.

You can see more on my smugmug http://torstenbangerter.smugmug.com/People/Photocamputah2010/

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 7:41 pm

    Torsten–
    I guess I will never be successful–because I will NEVER have a goatee! What if I just grow my leg hair? LOL!!!

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 in review « The Blog of Torsten

Leave a Reply

